Newsletter Banner
November 24, 2015 Facebook Twitter Instagram School Seal
20th Walter H. Butler Golf Classic
Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf Golf

Twenty-two foursomes arrived at The Breakers Ocean Course for a shamble start at 8:30 a.m. on Saturday, November 14 to compete for the coveted Walter H. Butler Trophy and additional prizes including Men’s Flight Division, Mixed Flight Division, Student Flight Division, Closest to the Pin, and Longest Drive. Individual awards were given to men, women, and student players. Eleven students participated in this year’s tournament, which was chaired by Matt Smith and Steve Smith. More than $60,000 was raised for Palm Beach Day Academy’s educational programs.
The weekend began Friday evening with the Rooftop Bash cocktail party held this year at Roxy’s, West Palm Beach. Golfers, PBDA Parents, Alumni, Faculty, and special friends gathered together for a night of festivities including a putting contest and silent auction.
The overall grand tournament winner included the team of Joe Carron, Michael Katzenberg ‘02, Trey Sned ’99, and Christopher Vila. Men’s Flight Division winner included the team of Paul Bonaros, Jim Gilligan, Joe McGivney, and Brett Shofner, with husband - wife team Gerard and Kellie Stigliano, Mike Curcio, and Christopher Goldberg winning the Mixed Flight Division, and Doug Luce, Ben Smith ‘17, Matt Smith, and Stan Smith winning the Student Division. Second place recognition went to Ben Alexander, Hunter Beebe, Scott Johnson ‘79, and Gary Pohrer in the Men’s Flight Division, Sarah Kemeness, Michael Ostrowski, Scot Post, and Geoff Ritchie in the Mixed Flight Division, and Chris Parolie, Austin Smith, Cooper Smith, and Steve Smith in the Student Division. Closest to the Pin winners were Peter Wicknertz, Jung Bassett and Ben Smith ‘17. Longest Drive winners were Trey Sned ’99, Karin Luter and Ben Smith ‘17.
Major Sponsors of this year’s Golf Classic include Shoes For Crews, Austin and Steve Smith, Sterling Organization, The Breakers, the Hallowell Family, the Stan and Arna Smith Foundation, SCS Financial, and The Atwood Group – Merrill Lynch.


The long awaited day for Palm Beach Day Academy students to takeover both campuses and shadow the faculty they deeply admire finally arrived Friday, November 13. Eighty-nine PBDA faculty and staff vacated their seats for “Kids Rule the School.” Parent bidding for these seats at the Feather Ball pre-auction party generated more than $60,000 for PBDA.
The students were beyond thrilled to spend the day side-by-side with the faculty; teaching their classmates and walking in faculty shoes. Eleven lower campus students journeyed to the upper campus to see what life was like as an upper campus student – in some cases teaching their siblings. Refreshments were available on both campuses for faculty and students alike to enjoy a coffee break during free periods. The Palm Beach Daily News was on-site throughout the morning photographing students and interviewing Mr. Bertie Azqueta, Headmaster for the Day and his counterpart Dr. van der Bogert.
"Kids Rule the School" Faculty & Staff Participants Stephanie Adams, Meghan Albanese, Jennifer Andreon, Danielle Aronson, Adrienne Arp, Tina Barbieri, Jamie Bartlett, Wendy Bieneman, Chris Carson, Kathleen Cashette, Christi Chane, Allison Charnick, Sue Chris, Paul Cicio, Barbara Close, Ellie Colpitts, Jan-Marie Cook, Wendie Crawford, Dorothea Cvelbar, Paulette Danni, Martha Dyal, Courtney Ellender, Sarah Evans, Chris Evans, Heather Fanberg, Claudie Finney, Nina Flaminio, Valentina Gabrielli, Jim Gramentine, Ralph Greco, Patti Griffin, Karen Hall, Erika Handley, Kathleen Hinds, Ashley Hollern, Robyn Huff, Annette Johnson, Cynthia Kanai, Sarah Kemeness, Lindsay Kosarek, Tracy Kramm, Steve Lucchesi, Paula Martin, Nicole McGivney, Hilary Mendoza, Linda Merman, Anne Methe, Erin Mitchell, Justin Moe, Glenda Moffatt, Debbie Moore, Scott Moore, Amy Moses, Anita Nida, Beth Okun, Ilkay Ozgenc, Jonathan Paine, Carrie Pateman, Louisa Perolio, Jordan Perry, Karie Petrovics, Megan Quinty, Lauran Rearic, Janice Remington, Barbara Reyes, Tom Sarko, Emily Shaw, Elizabeth Sheen, Olympia Shields, Vasantha Siva, Glenn Smith, Deena Sobel, Sara Stapleton, Bryce Stewart, Scott Thompson, Katy Thompson, Cecilia Thoresen, Donna Tobey, Suzanne Torlen, Richard Tummon, Becky van der Bogert, Joy VanDyke, Judy Varady, Richard Wagener, Rusty Wilkerson, Jennifer Xie, George Yeager, Jessica Yeager, and Kelly Zingaro

Dr. Edwin Gordon Dr. Edwin Gordon Appointed Next Head of School
Palm Beach Day Academy's Board of Trustees and the Head of School Search Committee announced the appointment of Dr. Edwin P. Gordon as the next Head of School of PBDA. Dr. Gordon will officially begin as Head on July 1, but he has already begun the process of getting to know the students, faculty, administration and parents of Palm Beach Day Academy. Immediately following the October 20th announcement of Dr. Gordon's appointment, he was available for a series of receptions and informal welcome meetings. A reception at the home of Frances and Jeff Fisher gave parents an opportunity to visit with Edwin and a faculty reception at the home of Gita and Mark Costa did the same for faculty.
Dr. Gordon will be returning to Palm Beach on several occasions during the remainder of the 2015-16 school year. Learn more about Dr. Edwin P. Gordon HERE.

BookFair Thank You for a Successful Book Fair
This year’s Book Fair was a great success and we want to thank all of the volunteers who helped with making decorations, set-up last Friday, volunteering at the Book Fair during the week, PAJAMA DAY, and clean up. A very special THANKS goes out to our Book Fair Chairs, Lyanne Azqueta, Jessica Koch, Barbie Lotfi, and Carrie Murray. Thank you to Jason Briggs for always bringing added excitement to our events with his great costumes and to Loverly Sheridan for being this year’s guest author. We truly appreciate everyone’s support of the Book Fair.

Kiwanis Kiwanis Student of the Month - December
Quinn Griffin has been selected by the faculty to receive the Kiwanis Student of the Month Award for December. The Student of the Month is chosen by the faculty from the 8th & 9th Graders. The decision is based on the faculty's judgement of each student's contributions as a scholar and school citizen.
Congratulations, Quinn.


Annual Fund Mobile Updates Facebook

Click to view past e-Newsletters